Phase categories

CES phase categories are based on EduBase definitions; please click on this link to refer to EduBase's Glossary of Terms. The Nursery/Early Years category combines EduBase's nursery and early years phases. The Primary category includes preparatory and middle deemed primary schools. It covers Key Stages 1 and 2. Please select one of the five options from the drop-down menu. If you are unsure which option is most suitable for your school/college, some examples are set out in the following table.

Phase Categories
Nursery/Early YearsPrimarySecondaryTertiaryAll Through
Early Years2-1111-1616 Plus0-18
Nursery3-1111-18Sixth Form College2.5-16
4-11Key Stage 3Tertiary3-18
5-11Key Stage 45-19
Deemed PrimaryKey Stage 57-18
FirstMiddle (Deemed Secondary)Lower, Preparatory, Senior
FoundationSecondaryNursery to Sixth Form
InfantSecondary with Sixth formPreparatory and Senior
JuniorSeniorPrimary and Secondary
Key Stage 1Primary, Secondary and Tertiary
Key Stage 2
Middle (Deemed Primary)
Nursery and Primary

© 2024 Catholic Education Service